May 10, 2018
  • B.B. Owen, Rayzor Perfect For Second Consecutive Year To Repeat As Co-Champions Among 21 DFW Elementary Schools
  • INDYCAR Drivers Dixon And Chaves Along With NASCAR’s Gilliland To Serve As Special Guests For May 22-23 Championship Assemblies

FORT WORTH, Texas (May 9, 2018) – E.P. Rayzor and B.B. Owen were perfect in Turn 4 of Texas Motor Speedway’s Speeding To Read competition and it was vital to both elementary schools repeating as co-champions in the year-long educational program.

B.B. Owen, of The Colony, and E.P. Rayzor, of Lantana, had 100 percent of their student bodies reach their reading goals in all four of the turns of the competition and posted perfect seasons for the second consecutive year. For Rayzor, it is the Denton ISD school’s fourth consecutive championship in Speeding To Read.

B.B. Owen, of the Lewisville ISD, and Rayzor dominated among the 21 Dallas/Fort Worth elementary schools and 12,061 students – both program records – that participated in the competition. Those two schools, along with the top individuals and classrooms, will be honored at the Speeding To Read Championship Assemblies on May 22-23 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Verizon IndyCar Series drivers Scott Dixon and Gabby Chaves will be the special guests for the Frontstretch Conference assembly on Tuesday, May 22 and then NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver David Gilliland for the Backstretch Conference assembly on Wednesday, May 23.

In the Turn 4 competition, second-grader Eliam Guardado of Diamond Hill (Fort Worth ISD) and fifth-grader Carter Fine of Lakeview (Northwest ISD) were the top individual readers during the two-month scoring period. Guardado was the Kindergarten-2nd Grade Division leader with 4,916 books read while Fine paced the 3rd-6th Grade Division with 634 books read.

Diamond Hill Elementary swept the classroom honors. The second-grade class of Lina Reyes averaged 1,523.17 books per student to earn KG-2nd Grade Division classroom honors. Diana Barron’s third-grade class was the top 3rd-6th Grade Division classroom with an average of 184.47 books read per student.

The school division leaders were Rayzor (Horsepower Division, 100%), B.B. Owen (Pit Stop, 100%), Henrie of Mesquite ISD (Lug Nut, 89%) and Lakeview (Burnout, 82%).

For complete Turn 4 results, please visit speedingtoread.wpengine.com.

Guardado and Fine will receive prize packs compliments of Speedway Motorsports, Inc. Properties and Texas Motor Speedway while the classrooms of Reyes and Barron will receive a edible “slime” party courtesy of Levy Restaurants, the speedway’s official concessionaire.

Since Speeding To Read began in 2011-12 with one pilot school, the educational program has impacted nearly 36,000 children from 64 schools across the DFW Metroplex. Those students have combined to read more than 4.7 million books and counting in the program’s existence.

Texas Motor Speedway’s Speeding To Read program is supported by the following partners: Speedway Children’s Charities-Texas, NASCAR, Verizon IndyCar Series, Lionel Racing, Speedway World, Levy Restaurants, The Speedway Club, aai Trophies and Awards of Plano, Jostens, Woolley’s Frozen Custard and Team Texas High Performance Driving School.

For more information on Speeding To Read, please visit speedingtoread.wpengine.com or inquire with the Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department at [email protected] about enrollment for the 2018-19 school year.