June 17, 2015

FORT WORTH, Texas (June 17, 2015) – E.P. Rayzor Elementary of Lantana and Nance Elementary of Fort Worth celebrated their respective Speeding To Read school championships with pizza and frozen custard parties at their schools courtesy of the program’s partners.

Rayzor, which won the Frontstretch Division en route to the overall school championship, enjoyed a Woolley’s Frozen Custard party for its 500-plus students and faculty during the final week of school.

Nance, which was crowned the Backstretch Division champions, earned a Domino’s pizza party for its 480-plus students and faculty that also came during the final week of the school year.
Rayzor won the division and overall school championships by having the highest percentage of their students meet or exceed the year-long reading goals from among the seven schools competing this past school year. Rayzor of the Denton ISD led the way with 99 percent of its student body achieving their reading goals. Nance of the Northwest ISD earned the Backstretch Division title with 90 percent of its student body achieving its reading goals.

The top reading classrooms – both from Rayzor – also earned a treat the last week of school. Texas Motor Speedway provided popcorn parties to Melanie Peterson’s kindergarten class that won the K-2 championship (averaging 1,284 books per student) and Kyle Malinowski’s third-grade class that took the 3-5 crown (averaging 109.28 chapter books per student) in addition to their Frontstretch Division crowns.

The seven schools, which also included 2013-14 school champion Roanoke, J.C. Thompson, Carroll Peak, Riverside Applied Learning Center and Eagle Lake, combined to read 533,707 books during the nine-month competition.

Domino’s and Woolley’s Frozen Custard were part of Speeding To Read’s 2014-15 partners that included aai Trophies and Awards of Plano, Dollar General Literacy Foundation, Kid’s Beach Club, Lionel Racing, NASCAR, Score A Goal in the Classroom, Speedway Children’s Charities-Texas Chapter, Texas Motor Speedway, The Speedway Club, Toyota of Fort Worth and the Verizon IndyCar Series.