Defending Champ Roanoke Elementary Takes Turn 1 Lead

October 28, 2014
  • Lantana’s E.P. Rayzor Claims Top Overall Individuals, Classrooms In Grades K-2 And 3-5 For Turn 1
  • Defending NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Champion Crafton To Visit Roanoke Elementary On Thursday With Speeding To Read Trophy

FORT WORTH, TEXAS (October 27, 2014) – Roanoke Elementary School took a solid first step in defense of its championship as the Rangers grabbed the Turn 1 lead among the seven schools participating in Texas Motor Speedway’s  Speeding To Read program for the 2014-15 school year.

Roanoke, the 2013-14 Speeding To Read school champions hailing from the Northwest ISD, jumped out to the early lead with 96.5 percent of its student body meeting or exceeding their reading goals in the opening five weeks of this year’s competition.  The seven schools, which consist of more than 3,500 kindergarten through fifth-grade students, combined to read 100,221 books through Turn 1.

The Rangers needed the strong performance to hold off E.P. Rayzor Elementary School for top honors as the Denton ISD school came in at 94.4 percent. Roanoke and Rayzor both compete in the Frontstretch Division of Speeding To Read, along with Eagle Mountain Elementary of the Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD, so the Rangers hold the overall and division lead as well. However, it was Rayzor that captured the overall individual and classroom honors for Turn 1.

Rayzor swept the four top spots as the Lantana-based elementary school had the competition’s top individuals and classrooms for both the K-2 and 3-5 grade divisions. Second-grader Tyler Copes led K-2 students with 526 books read while third-grader Noah Temer paced 3-5 with 146 chapter books read. Melanie Peterson’s kindergarten students led K-2 classrooms with an average of 223.3 books read per student while Kyle Malinowsky’s third-grade class led 3-5 with an average of 25.8 chapter books read per student.

Northwest ISD also had the leading school in the Backstretch Division as Nance Elementary owns the lead with 81.4 percent of its students meeting or exceeding their reading goals. Following Nance was NISD’s J.C. Thompson Elementary at 75.7 percent in a division that also includes Fort Worth ISD’s Riverside Applied Learning Center and Carroll Peak Elementary School.

Nance dominated the Backstretch Division with a sweep as well. First-grader Delilah Seeley leads the division for K-2 with 405 books read and fourth-grader Christian Morgan leads 3-5 with 55 chapter books read.  Lauren Armstrong’s first graders were the K-2 division classroom leaders with 176.2 books per student and Teresia Clemons’ fourth-grade class led 3-5 with 15.3 chapter books per student.

The leading K-2 and 3-5 overall and division-leading individuals will receive Turn 1 leader trophies, a prize pack and four tickets to Sunday’s AAA Texas 500 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway. The speedway also will reward the leading K-2 and 3-5 individuals at each of the schools with four tickets to Saturday’s O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge NASCAR Nationwide Series race.

The prize packs and other program enhancements are courtesy of the proud sponsors of Texas Motor Speedway’s Speeding To Read program – NASCAR, Verizon IndyCar Series, Speedway Children’s Charities-Texas Chapter, Toyota of Fort Worth, The Speedway Club, Kid’s Beach Club, Score A Goal in the Classroom, aai Trophies and Awards of Plano, Domino’s Pizza, Woolley’s Frozen Custard, Lionel and Dollar General Literacy Foundation.

About Speeding To Read:  Speeding To Read is an incentive-based, motorsports-themed reading program created by Texas Motor Speedway in 2011 to encourage elementary school students to read more frequently during the school year. Reading guidelines have been established by elementary school principals to coincide with their reading programs. Student bodies are split into two divisions – kindergarten through second grade and third through fifth – with individuals, classrooms and schools competing against each other to read the most books and earn the title of Speeding To Read champions. At each of the four turns (or quarters during a school year), TMS provides trophies to the top individuals, a year-round plaque for each school to recognize their top K-2 and 3-5 classroom through each turn and a giant perpetual trophy to the school leading the competition for display at their school until the next quarter. Texas Motor Speedway will play host in late May to the “Speeding To Read” Championship Awards Assembly and honor the top students at each of the schools. For more information, please visit