September 18, 2017
  • More Than 12,000 Elementary Students From Program-Record 21 DFW Elementary Schools Begin Competition Today To Become Speeding To Read Champions

FORT WORTH, Texas (September 18, 2017) – A program-record 21 elementary schools from across the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex spent the past week hosting “Start Your Reading Engines” assemblies in preparation for today’s official start of Texas Motor Speedway’s Speeding To Read competition.

The schools, which represent more than 12,000 students from eight Independent School Districts, celebrated the start of the competition with full-school assemblies beginning Wednesday of last week and culminating this Wednesday with the final one being held by three-time defending school champions, Lantana’s E.P. Rayzor of the Denton ISD.

The assemblies featured a pre-taped video from NASCAR’s Dale Earnhardt Jr. and INDYCAR’s Graham Rahal with good luck messages, Speeding To Read advice and a Q&A with both racing stars on their professional and personal lives. The schools engaged the students in various racing-themed events and Texas Motor Speedway provided all the schools with a Speeding To Read starter kit.

The kit provides the schools with the ability to theme the school for the competition, including street signs with the names of NASCAR and INDYCAR stars to hang in hallways, a cartoon-style mural to serve as the main hallway centerpiece, outdoor signs acknowledging the school is competing in the program and bookmarks for every student in the program.

The Colony’s B.B. Owen Elementary of the Lewisville ISD, the defending co-champions with E.P. Rayzor, conducted both an indoor and outdoor assembly for their 480 students on Friday. The event was highlighted by the students spelling “STR” outside of the school that was captured from a drone and The Colony High School drill team and band performing inside. For a video recap of the assemblies that feature B.B. Owen and Fort Worth’s Carter Park, click here.

In addition to E.P. Rayzor and B.B. Owen, the schools competing are Henrie, Cannaday, Shands and Black (Mesquite ISD); Manuel Jara, Diamond Hill and Carter Park (Fort Worth ISD); Tom C. Gooch and Marsalis (Dallas ISD); Brent (Little Elm ISD); McAuliffe, Peters Colony, Homestead, Stewart’s Creek and Vickery (Lewisville ISD); Hargrave (Crowley ISD); and Hughes, Lakeview and Seven Hills (Northwest ISD). The group is divided into two conferences (Frontstretch, Backstretch) and four divisions (Lug Nut, Horsepower, Burnout and Pit Stop).

The competition goes throughout the school year, including after school and at home, and culminates in late May with Speeding To Read Championship Assemblies on consecutive days at Texas Motor Speedway. The enrollment for the 2017-18 school year is closed, but schools can begin signing up for 2018-19 through the speedway.

Since Speeding To Read began in 2011-12 with one pilot school, the program has impacted nearly 24,000 children from the 43 schools that competed in the first six years. Those students have combined to read nearly 3.7 million books in the program’s existence. Last year alone, the 10 schools and 5,049 students combined to read 678,887 books.

Texas Motor Speedway’s Speeding To Read program is supported by the following partners: Speedway Children’s Charities-Texas, NASCAR, Verizon IndyCar Series, Lionel Racing, Speedway World, Levy Restaurants, The Speedway Club, aai Trophies and Awards of Plano, Woolley’s Frozen Custard and Team Texas High Performance Driving School.

For more information or interest in signing up for Speeding To Read, please visit speedingtoread.wpengine.com or inquire with the Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department at [email protected] or 817.215.8520.